TWAS-CAS Fellowships for Visiting Scholars in China

1 post / 0 new
Amar Annamalai
Amar Annamalai's picture
TWAS-CAS Fellowships for Visiting Scholars in China

Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and TWAS offers fifteen Visiting Scholarships. The scholarships are offered to all students from Developing Countries (other than China). Visiting Scholar Fellowships are offered in the field of  natural sciences and are tenable for minimum period of one to a maximum of three months at the research institutions of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. Applicant applying for the scholarship must be a maximum age of 55 years on 31 December of the application year.

Study Subject(s): The scholarship is offered in the field of Natural Sciences
Course Level: The scholarship is provided to pursue Research programme at institutions of the Chinese Academy of Sciences.
Scholarship Provider: Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and TWAS
Scholarship can be taken at: China
Applicants for these Fellowships must meet the following criteria:
-be a maximum age of 55 years on 31 December of the application year;
-be nationals of a developing country (other than China);
-must not hold any visa for temporary or permanent residency in China or any developed country;
-hold a PhD degree in a field of the natural sciences and a regular research assignment with at least five years of -postdoctoral research experience;
-be accepted at a CAS-listed institution participating in the scheme and provide an official acceptance letter from the host institution (see sample Acceptance Letter, page 3) to this effect; and
-provide evidence of proficiency in English or Chinese.
Scholarship Open for Students of Following Countries: The students of Afghanistan, Gambia, Mozambique, Bangladesh, The Guinea, Myanmar, Benin, Guinea-Bisau, Nepal, Burkina Faso, Haiti, Niger, Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Cambodia, Korea, Dem Rep., Sierra Leone, Central African Republic, Kyrgyz Republic, Somalia, Liberia, Tajikistan, Comoros, Madagascar, Tanzania, Malawi, Togo, Congo, Dem. Rep, Eritrea, Mali, Uganda, Ethiopia, Mauritania, Zimbabwe, Albania, Indonesia, Samoa, Armenia, India, São Tomé and Principe, Belize, Iraq, Senegal, Bhutan, Kiribati, Solomon Islands, Bolivia, Kosovo, South Sudan, Cameroon, Lao PDR, Sri Lanka, Cape Verde, Lesotho, Sudan, Congo, Rep., Marshall Islands, Swaziland, Côte d’Ivoire, Micronesia, Fed. Sts., Syrian Arab Republic, Djibouti, Moldova, Timor-Leste, Egypt, Arab Rep., Mongolia, Tonga, El Salvador, Morocco, Ukraine, Fiji, Nicaragua, Uzbekistan, Georgia, Nigeria, Vanuatu, Ghana, Pakistan, Vietnam, Guatemala, Papua New Guinea, West Bank and Gaza, Guyana, Paraguay, Yemen, Rep., Honduras, Philippines,Zambia, Angola, Ecuador, Palau, Algeria, Gabon, Panama, American Samoa, Grenada, Peru, Antigua and Barbuda, Iran, Islamic Rep., Romania, Argentina, Jamaica, Russian Federation,Azerbaijan, Jordan, Serbia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Seychelles, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Latvia,South Africa, Botswana, Lebanon, St. Lucia, Brazil, Libya, St. Vincent and the Grenadines,Bulgaria, Lithuania, Suriname, Chile, Macedonia, FYR, Thailand, Malaysia, Tunisia,Colombia, Maldives, Turkey, Costa Rica, Mauritius, Turkmenistan, Cuba, Mexico, Tuvalu,Dominica, Montenegro, Uruguay can apply for the fellowship.
Scholarship Description:TWAS-CAS Visiting Scholar Fellowships in natural sciences are tenable for minimum period of one to a maximum of three months at the research institutions of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. Eligible CAS institutions: More than 80 CAS institutes in China participate in this Fellowship programme. The language of instruction is English.International travel (return economy class by the shortest route) and visa expenses will be covered by TWAS. CAS will provide a standard monthly allowance which should be used to cover living costs, such as accommodation, food and health insurance. Only emergency medical aid will be available, if necessary. The monthly stipend will not be convertible into foreign currency.Applicants must be affiliated with a university or research centre in their home country.Applicants already on site in the host country are not eligible. Applicants must provide evidence that they will return to their home country upon completion of their Fellowships.
Number of Awards: 15 fellowships are awarded.
Duration of Awards: Fellowships are tenable for minimum period of one to a maximum of three months at the research institutions.
What does it cover? Not known
How to Apply:Click on the links below to download the application form and guidelines. Before applying it is recommended that you read very carefully the application guidelines for detailed information on eligibility criteria, deadlines and other key requirements of the application procedure.
Deadline:The deadline for receipt of applications is 31 August of each year.

For more details