AWARD Fellowships for African Women in Agricultural Research

1 post / 0 new
Job Publisher
Job Publisher's picture
AWARD Fellowships for African Women in Agricultural Research

AWARD is a professional development program that strengthens the research and leadership skills of African women in agricultural science, empowering them to contribute more effectively to poverty alleviation and food security in sub-Saharan Africa. AWARD is a project of the Gender & Diversity Program of the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR).

The AWARD Fellowship is a two-year program that offers a series of career-development resources that:

  • establish a mentorship for each fellow with a senior scientist
  • build science skills
  • develop leadership capacity

AWARD’s training courses, held over a two-year period, take place in various locations in Africa.

Women agricultural scientists who are nationals of Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, or Zambia, who have completed a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctoral degree in the disciplines listed below, are eligible to apply. Applicants must be available in Africa throughout the fellowship period. There is no age restriction.

Agricultural economics
Natural resources management

Agricultural engineering
Plant/animal virology

Extension education
Soil science

Animal and livestock sciences
Food science and nutrition
Veterinary sciences

Aquatic resources and fisheries
Forestry and agroforestry
Water and irrigation management

Biodiversity conservation

Crop science
Molecular biology
(plant/animal breeding)

For application forms and answers to frequently asked questions, please click on the link below that corresponds to your level of education.
Post-bachelor’s information
Post-master’s information
Post-doctoral information
Applicants have until March 25, 2011 to apply for a 2011 AWARD Fellowship.

Applications received after the deadline and incomplete applications will NOT be accepted. Selected fellows will be notified in mid-July, 2011.
Questions should be directed to

For more information