Register at TAIR to vote in upcoming NAASC elections

1 post / 0 new
qiang wang
qiang wang's picture
Register at TAIR to vote in upcoming NAASC elections




/* Style Definitions */
{mso-style-name:"Table Normal";
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;

Dear North American Arabidopsis Researchers,
 It is time for the annual election of two new members of the North American Arabidopsis Steering Committee (NAASC).
 Only Arabidopsis researchers in North America can nominate, vote, and serve.
 ****To participate, first register with TAIR (if you haven't already):****
 (Forgot if you are registered with TAIR? Go to, type in your last and/or first name, hit search. Choose your name from the list and log-in to verify your current email address on file. You can have also your information emailed to you, or register as a new user if you've never registered before.)
 Election Procedure:
-An email asking for nominations will be sent to registered North American TAIR members on or around February 8, 2010. Nominee names are emailed to Self-nomination is accepted and previous NAASC members may serve again.
-The nomination deadline is March 1. An email will be sent around March 22 asking you to vote for up to 2 names on the nomination list (via a secure TAIR webpage).
-The voting deadline is April 23.
-The top 2 candidates will be contacted and their willingness to serve confirmed. Winners will be announced around the middle of May.

Without the efforts of the NAASC, organization of the Arabidopsis Conference and funding to attend the annual Arabidopsis conference for young scientists and underrepresented minorities would be jeopardized.

In addition, NAASC members support Arabidopsis resources such as TAIR and ABRC.
NAASC also represents North America to the international community. Service on the NAASC is important and highly appreciated. Two members that rotate off NAASC this year need to be replaced and we need community members to first nominate good Arabidopsis community candidates and then vote for those who agree to stand.

AASC officers currently are (listed in order of most to least seniority):
Julian Schroeder (UC San Diego), Caren Chang (Univ. of Maryland), George Haughn (Univ. of British Columbia, Scott Poethig (Univ. of PA-Philadelphia), Jane Glazebrook (University of Minnesota-St. Paul), Mark Estelle (UC San Diego), Xinnian Dong (Duke University), and Blake Meyers (University of Delaware). Their service to the community is much appreciated.
bout serving on NAASC:
Members serve for four full calendar years, beginning around the date of the Annual International Conference on Arabidopsis Research, and rotating off following the Conference held in their fourth year of service.
-Originally established in 1992 in response to the need for elected North American representatives to the Multinational Arabidopsis Steering Committee, NAASC has evolved into the main organizing and fundraising body for the International Conference on Arabidopsis Research when it is held in North America.
-The NAASC solicits funds to help North American junior scientists and minorities travel to these international meetings. Additionally, the NAASC serves as a liaison between members of the community and government and not-for-profit granting agencies and provides representation of the community to service facilities such as ABRC and TAIR.
-The NAASC contributes to the annual progress report on international Arabidopsis research efforts.
More information about the roles, history, and past members of the NAASC can be found at:
Best regards,

Joanna Friesner
NAASC Coordinator