Shimadzu GC 2010 (manual injection)

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
nomar
nomar's picture
Shimadzu GC 2010 (manual injection)

I am still a beginner with limited experience on GC instruments.  However, now I will be using the GC routinely and am trying to use a Shimadzu GC 2010 (wihtout an autosampler).  It is still a new system and I have not managed to submit 1 run successfully because as soon as I manually inject the inlet pressure is altered and apparently falls out of range.  It does not vary too much (only a few kPa +or -), however as soon as this happens, an error is generated : CAR1 primary pressure is out of range and acquisition stops immediately.
Does anyone have any idea why this is happening or what I'm doing wrong?
THanks!

Dr. Analytical
Dr. Analytical's picture
Please give us some

Please give us some information about your system and operating conditions:

column - length, diameter, film thickness, stationary phase type
carrier gas - type, flow
GC Settings - temperatures and flows
Injection - volume and solvent, type (split, splitless),  are you using a syringe?

nomar
nomar's picture
Hi,

Hi,

the column specifications are as follows:

0.25um film thickness, 30m length, 0.25mm internal diameter.  The stationary phase is non-polar.

Carrier gas is helium and the column flow is 0.88mL/min but also checked with 1.00mL/min (the method is still under development). (at constant pressure of 88.7kPa but also checked with 100kPa and total flow of 15mL/min and also checked with higher flow rates).

The start-up temperature is 65 degrees for 4 mins, then it increases to 260degrees at 30 degrees/min. this temperature is held for another 4 mins.  Total run time = 14.5mins.

The solvent I'm using is n-hexane and I tried injecting 1, 2 and 3uL of solvent, however, in each case I got this error.  I've tried both split and splitless.  I'm using a 10uL Hamiltonian syringe.